The English Informer Twitter Google+ Facebook English Informer
United States of America; Canada; Mexico;


United States of America; Canada; Mexico;

United States of America

Overview: The United States of America (USA) is a federal republic made up of 50 states. These are - Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine,  Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, 
Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.

History: Indigenous people settled here before 10,000 BC. Christopher Columbus arrived in 1492, introducing European cultures. On July 4, 1776, the Declaration of Independence was issued, establishing the United States of America. Alaska was purchased from Russia in 1867. Joining in 1959, Hawaii is the most recent of the 50 states in the USA. It is the only one made up entirely of islands. 

Capital: Washington, D.C.

Language: English, Spanish.

Food and drink: Pizza, a variety of seafoods, burgers and hot dogs with different toppings, barbecue ribs, cheese curds, doughnuts, key lime pie, low country boil, Huckleberry pie, clam chowder, pastrami on rye, pancakes ( sweet and savoury), bagels, frito pie,  pretzels, honey, blue ( and other varities) cheese, Persimmon pudding,  pork, beef, and chicken. 





Overview: Canada is made up of ten provinces and three territories. Its border with the USA is the world's longest bi-national land border. Canada is a federal parliamentary democracy and a constitutional monarchy. Queen Elizabeth II is the head of state.

History: In the 16th century, the British and French established colonies. In 1535 France was the first country to establish a colony. Canada gained independence from Britain in 1867, even though Queen Elizabeth II remains head of state here.

Capital: Ottawa

​Language: English, French

Food and drink: Food in some of the provinces is from British, Scottish, French and Irish cooking. Some of the food enjoyed here includes -  salt-cured fish, beef, Canadian bacon, pizza, pork, butter tarts, doughnuts, Nanaimo Bars, soups, Tourtière, and ketchup on most dishes.


Overview: Officially known as the United Mexican States. There are 31 states in Mexico as well as the capital. The Chihuahua is the world’s smallest dog and is named for a Mexican state.

History: The Mexican people, descendants of the Aztecs and the Mayas. Stone tools have been found in Mexico. These suggest the existence of humans there about 23000 years ago. The first great civilization in Mexico were the Olmecs (1400-300 B.C.). They established many cities along the eastern coast of Mexico. Mexico City is built over the ruins of a great Aztec city, Tenochtitlán.

Capital: Mexico City

​Language: Spanish, german, English

Food and drink: these include Enchiladas, tortillas, meat ( goat, sheep, pork, chicken, turkey, beef), cheese, seafood, corn, maize, squash, sweet potato, peppers, beans, vegetables, vanilla, tacos, burritos and beetroot.